OR Redistricting Map Changes Benton County Representation

The once per decade process of redistricting Oregon’s political boundaries is finally finished. A lot changed, though some Oregonians may be unfamiliar as to how that changes their representation. 

This process is how new congressional and state legislative district boundaries are determined. On Sept. 27, 2021, Governor Kate Brown signed our new congressional map into law, which will take effect in Oregon’s 2022 congressional elections — though it’s still subject to court challenges and change in the meantime. 

But what’s changing locally for those in Benton County? The northern section of Benton County, alongside all of Lincoln County, will move from Congressional District Five into District Four. The city of Corvallis will, however, remain in District Four.   

The Fifth District is currently represented by Democrat Kurt Schrader, and the Fourth District is represented by Democrat Peter DeFazio.  

For a map and information on each district’s representative, click here. Further details on specifics involved in the process, along with the text of the bills in question are available here. A basic collection of information on redistricting, for those unfamiliar, can be found here.  

By Ethan Hauck 

Do you have a story for The Advocate? Email editor@corvallisadvocate.com