Oregon tenants are protected from eviction over not paying rent until June 30, 2021, if they sign a sworn statement of financial hardship for their landlords.
House Bill 4401, which was passed by the Oregon Legislature on Dec. 21, extends an eviction moratorium until the end of June next year, and puts $150 million in a landlord relief fund. Another $50 million goes to rental assistance.
The Oregon Law Center has released an online guide showing renter rights under the new moratorium extension.
Starting Jan. 1, renters who owe landlords and who still can’t pay on time because of the pandemic, must fill out a sworn declaration to prove their hardship status rather than notifying landlords of the problem. Reasons for nonpayment can include loss of income, medical expenses, increased child care costs, or any other financial barriers.
The moratorium extension includes money for landlords to help tenants pay off part of their rent. The Oregon Law Center suggests renters ask landlords to apply.
Landlords can give notice of termination if they don’t get the sworn statement by the end of the year, they are required to provide tenants with a copy of the form and accept it if the tenants fill it out along with information about the moratorium. Under the new guidelines, all rent is owed by July 1, 2021.
By Cody Mann