Corvallis-OSU Symphony Offers Free “Remote Concert”

The Corvallis-Oregon State University Symphony is offering a free online performance, which they describe as a “remote concert,” at 3 p.m. Sunday, Nov. 22, with live streaming at The symphony’s string ensemble, directed by Maestro Marlan Carlson and conducted by OSU Senior Ellie Phillips, will begin with selected parts of several well-known and popular compositions: 

Dvořák’s Serenade for Strings, Op. 22 

Edvard Grieg’s Holberg Suite, Op. 40 

Mozart’s Adagio and Fugue in c minor, KV. 546 

Mozart’s Serenade for Strings Op. 13, KV. 525 “Eine kleine Nachtmusik” 

If you click on the hyperlink for any of these, you will be able to listen to the piece performed by other artists. Even if you don’t recognize the title, it’s likely you will recognize the composition. 

If you miss the live performance, you will be able to watch it on the College of Liberal Arts YouTube channel at a later date. 

By: John M. Burt