County Commissioner Candidate Debate Set

peoplesUPDATE, Tuesday, September 20, 2016, 6:32 pm – Candidates Xan Augerot (D), Annabelle Jaramillo (D) and Tim Dehne are confirmed for this Town Hall. Jerry Jackson (R) and Paul Cauthorn (R), both having prior confirmed their participation, have now said they will not participate.

Forum organizers confirm the event will proceed as scheduled. City Club stated that both Jackson and Cauthorn made demands unacceptable to its program committee.


Benton County has issues, and come November voters will choose just which county commissioners seem most able to deal with them all, so City Club of Corvallis and the League of Women Voters will co-sponsor an open forum for candidates this month. It’s an opportunity for attendees to ask questions of the candidates, and attendance is free for all.

Of three county commissioner seats, two slots are open this election cycle. Running for position two on the commission are Xan Augerot (Democrat) and Jerry Jackson (Republican). Running for position three, Paul Cauthorn (Republican), Tim Dehne (Green Party) and incumbent Annabelle Jaramillo (Democrat).

Organizers say the candidates will have a chance to make brief statements about their priorities, but most of the time is allotted for the candidates to respond to questions and concerns from the voters. Ed Weber, professor in the School of Public Policy at Oregon State University, will moderate.

Among topics to be discussed are earthquake preparedness, homelessness, mental health services, the adequacy of space for county offices and facilities, and the list goes on, but you get the idea.

7-9 p.m., Thursday, Sept. 22 at Old World Deli, 341 SW 2nd St., Corvallis. Attendance is free, no registration is necessary. For more information:

 By Rob Goffins