County Calls for Volunteers

By Anthony Harris

VolunteersBentonCountyBenton County is looking for community input as well as volunteers for its many committees. If there’s a cause you care deeply about, chances are you’ll be able to get involved.

The Benton County Board of Commissioners is updating its Strategic Plan, which will serve as a guide for county operations over the next two to four years. Public participation is strongly encouraged.

Here are your opportunities to get involved. For more information, contact the Benton County Board of Commissioners at 541-766-6800.

∙ Wednesday, May 14 from 6 to 8 p.m. at the Linus Pauling Middle School cafeteria, 1111 Cleveland Avenue, Corvallis

∙ Thursday, May 15 from 6 to 8 p.m. at the Monroe branch of the Corvallis-Benton County Public Library, 380 North Fifth Street (Highway 99W), Monroe

∙ Thursday, May 29 from 6 to 8 p.m. at the Albany Golf and Event Center (formerly Springhill Country Club), 155 NW Country Club Lane, North Albany

The Board of Commissioners is also looking to fill vacancies on several different committees, commissions, and advisory boards, which includes the ability to serve up to two consecutive terms. Please note: Members are unpaid volunteers who devote numerous hours to community activities.

Here are committees that currently have openings:

∙Bicycle Advisory Committee, one vacancy
∙Board of Property Tax Appeals, six vacancies
∙Disposal Site Advisory Committee, three vacancies (one from unincorporated Benton County, one from city of Monroe, and one from city of Adair Village)
∙Emergency Medical Advisory Committee, two vacancies
∙Environmental Issues Advisory Committee, one vacancy
∙Food Service Advisory Committee, five vacancies
∙Historic Resources Commission, three vacancies
∙Mental Health, Addictions, and Developmental Disabilities Advisory Committee, three vacancies
∙Natural Areas and Parks Board, three vacancies
∙Public Health Planning Advisory Committee, two vacancies (one health care practitioner and one member at large well-informed on public health matters)
∙Planning Commission, two vacancies
∙Special Transportation Advisory Committee, one vacancy (user representative/member at large)
∙Solid Waste Advisory Committee, three vacancies (one city of Adair Village, one city of Monroe, and one from unincorporated Benton County).

For more information about Benton County committees, advisory boards, or the application process, contact Teresa Farley at 541-766-6890 or, or visit

Be Sociable, Share!