The Athletics Department and Oregon State University will face a $25,000 fine for rushing the football field after the Beavers’ Civil War win on Nov. 26. The fine is part of a Pac-12 policy that went into effect at the beginning of the 2016-‘17 academic year.
The rule states that a first offense of rushing the field incurs a fine of $25,000. The fine is $50,000 for a second offense and $100,000 for a third offense. It is meant to protect the safety of all in attendance at games, and allow the teams to exit the field on their own time.
“This enhanced policy underscores the importance our universities place on the safety and welfare of our student-athletes, officials, and fans, and will allow us to educate staffs and fans on procedures going forward,” said Mike Williams, Director of Athletics at the University of California, Berkeley.
While $25,000 doesn’t seem like much to the athletic department, whose 2015 revenue totaled over $64.5 million according to the NCAA, the consequences will likely increase.
The Southeastern Conference originally imposed fines in 2004 of $5,000, $25,000, and $50,000 for first, second, and third offenses respectively. But after all but five out of the 14 SEC schools incurred fines, the deterrent was raised to $50,000, $100,000, and then $250,000 in 2015.
By Regina Pieracci