Summer Happenings: Events, Festivals and Fairs in the Mid-Valley

College has let out and summer in Corvallis has begun—so what’s happening around town? A lot more than you might think! Here’s a selection of events both in Corvallis as well as within a reasonable drive away.

Oregon Country Fair
Oregon Country Fair

Wednesday, July 3 and Thursday, July 4 offer Corvallis’ annual Red White & Blue Riverfront Festival.  Enjoy a microbrew as you enjoy fine music by the Ted Vaughn Blues Band and Fate 55, Wild Hog Gumbo and The Twin Tones, Parish Gap, Tommy Hogan, and Kevin Selfe.

Another choice place to get away this summer is the Oregon Country Fair on Friday, July 12, Saturday, July 13, and Sunday, July 14. With highly talented entertainers and performers, artisans, and more, the 44th annual fair promises to immerse one in an otherworldly experience unlike any other. Tickets are available at http://www.oregoncountryfair.org/tickets.php. Get then now, as none will be available at the door.

da Vinci Days Festival
da Vinci Days Festival

Of course, one can’t miss da Vinci Days from Friday, July 19 to Sunday, July 21. This ode to science and art will host award-winning, nationally known entertainers, a film festival, kinetic sculpture races, and many, many, booths and vendors devoted to the arts, sustainability, sciences, and more. For more information, visit http://www.davincidays.org/.

Be sure not to miss Benton County Fair from Wednesday, July 31 to Saturday, Aug. 3. Located at the Benton County Fairgrounds, 110 SW 53rd Street, the fair will feature rides, food, a rodeo, music, and more! (Psst! This includes the mainstream critically acclaimed Blue Oyster Cult on Friday, Aug. 2.)

And don’t forget the Linn County Fair from Thursday, July 18 to Sunday, July 21 in Albany, which features the band Kansas on the Thursday.

Burnt Woodstock
Burnt Woodstock

Burnt Woods, Oregon, features BurntWoodStock 2013, located in the Coast Range on Highway 20 between Newport and Corvallis. The event is a family friendly festival with over 25 bands, fire dancers, stilt walkers, and more. Come camp out this Friday, July 26 to Sunday, July 28. Tickets are available at http://burntwoodsstock.com/tickets_2013.

Coming up Friday, Aug. 2 to Sunday, Aug. 4 is the Oregon Jamboree music festival! This nonprofit exists to facilitate funding for economic and quality of life projects in Sweet Home, and summons forth thousands of fans with its promise of family fun and music, including some of the biggest names in country music. For tickets, visit http://www.oregonjamboree.com/tickets/.

Faerieworlds
Faerieworlds

From Wednesday, July 24 to Sunday, July 28, Faerieworlds, touted as the world’s largest faerie festival, offers talent in art, literature, crafts, and music from all over the world. Located on Mount Pisgah, an appropriately gorgeous setting for the unique and wondrous event, directions and tickets may be found at http://faerieworlds.com/.

Friday, Aug. 23 to Sunday, Aug. 25 feature the award-winning, three-day Northwest Art & Air Festival in Timber Linn Park in Albany. Some of the attractions include balloon launches, Night Glow Laser Shows, Kids’ Art Village, food, a car show, and live music—most notably multi-platinum-winning rock band Foreigner. Find more info at http://nwartandair.org/.

Have a taste for the Elizabethan? The Shrewsbury Renaissance Faire will transport you to the age of Shakespeare and madrigal merriment—just 15 miles away—on Saturday, Sept. 14 and Sunday, Sept. 15. For directions, visit http://shrewfaire.com/Directions/.

Did we miss something? Just let us know in the comments section below!

By Joel Southall

Be Sociable, Share!

1 thought on “Summer Happenings: Events, Festivals and Fairs in the Mid-Valley

Comments are closed.